RSS

Having a @ubuntu.com E-Mail Address: A Lesson Learned

20 Mar

Okay, this “lesson(s) learned” blog post might be a weird one but what happened to me is asking me to write this.

A few days ago, out of the blue, guess who offers me a job?  Google!  A recruiter from Google e-mails me offering me a job that requires coding and the problem is that I have no skill.  For some reason, I Tweet the news and the reply from pleia2.

The lesson that I learned from this is have your wiki userpage and launchpad page up to date and even include something of your skills. This is what I wrote:

NOTE: I’m only a Ubuntu Community member, not a developer/coder. I use Ubuntu Linux to get away from Windows and Mac. I’m a biologist that will most likely do research not developing programs.

I hope this helps for the ones who don’t develop or code.

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 20, 2014 in Lessons Learned, Ubuntu

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Having a @ubuntu.com E-Mail Address: A Lesson Learned

  1. Another Member

    March 21, 2014 at 3:04 am

    They’ll email you every couple of years. Just so you know 🙂

     
    • belkinsa

      March 21, 2014 at 9:48 am

      Thanks for the heads up.

       
  2. José Antonio Rey

    March 21, 2014 at 3:47 am

    I wish I had gotten an email like that when I got my @ubuntu.com email address…

     
    • belkinsa

      March 21, 2014 at 9:49 am

      It could be just luck on my side or they are recruiting now.

      I can pass on the recruiter’s e-mail if you want.

       
  3. pleia2

    March 21, 2014 at 7:46 am

    I wouldn’t say “only” a Community Member, the work you do is just as important as those of developers and coders! 🙂

     
    • belkinsa

      March 21, 2014 at 9:53 am

      Good point. I will add what I do in the Community.

       

Leave a Reply

 
