RSS

Ubuntu 14.04 Review

05 May

As I promised, in this post, I have a review of Ubuntu 14.04.  Well, two reviews: desktop and tablet.

As the desktop, Ubuntu 14.04 rocks!  There are many features that I wanted that are finally built-in.  One of them is the battery indicator showing the other battery devices that you have connected such as a wireless keyboard.  I remember asking that a Long-Term Release ago in Ubuntu Brainstorm when it was still around.  Another awesome feature is the volume limit can be set where you can go past 100% without going to sound settings to just adjust the volume.  I love this because it find it a bit hard to hear what people say in some of the Hangouts and other videos and now I don’t need to do the extra step of going to adjust the volume.  Now, I can allow Ubuntu do it for me with a check in a box.  These are the only two features that I love about Ubuntu 14.04 along with the live resizing of windows.

As for the tablet, I hate it.  I have a Nexus 7 2013 and I waited for them to get an official image for it.  But now, I think I would rather stick to Android.  First off, I know that Ubuntu for ptablets is just a developers/testers preview and feedback is key, but I would rather wait a bit or another release to try it out my Nexus 7 2013.  They are many features that are missing and they are basic.  Here is the list:

  • No way to uninstall apps
  • No way to have a warning that you are powering down
  • It crashes
  • No inductor for volume when you adjust it

There are more about these are the ones that I can remember before I reinstalled what I have before Ubuntu.

 

 
6 Comments

Posted by on May 5, 2014 in Ubuntu

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “Ubuntu 14.04 Review

  1. archerimagine

    May 5, 2014 at 12:48 pm

    there is one issue with Ubuntu 14.04 and the Broadcom Wifi Driver, so sometime the WiFi does not work on laptops in ubuntu 14.04

     
    • belkinsa

      May 5, 2014 at 12:53 pm

      Thanks, I didn’t think of that. I had no issues with getting WiFi working on both of my laptops and they both have Broadcom WiFi cards.

       
  2. tmsbrdrs

    May 5, 2014 at 1:41 pm

    I’ve installed and uninstalled plenty of apps on Ubuntu on my Nexus 7. Has this broken in more recent builds? I installed from when 14.04 released officially.

     
    • belkinsa

      May 5, 2014 at 1:44 pm

      I don’t know. Maybe I’m missing something or I just have issues.

       
  3. Ubuntu user

    July 18, 2014 at 12:27 am

    Ubuntu is amazing

     

Leave a Reply

 
